Module 2: Renal Fanconi Syndrome

"Renal Fanconi syndrome and body fluid homeostasis"

A number of rare diseases are associated with a generalized dysfunction of specific cells in the kidney called proximal tubule cells. This type of dysfunction is called renal Fanconi syndrome (RFS) and leads to an excessive urinary loss of solutes. In turn, these losses cause severe clinical problems including dehydration and electrolyte imbalance, rickets, growth retardation, and progressive renal failure.

The care of such patients presents major challenges, including the lack of standardized diagnostic and clinical procedures, difficulty to recruit patients for clinical studies, a large variability in phenotypes, and a shortage of appropriate models and clinical and biological data.

The major aims of the project are the establishment of a comprehensive registry of patients, the development of new disease models to gain insight into the pathophysiology of RFS, and ultimately the improvement of diagnosis, follow-up and treatment of patients affected by such disorders.

Modul 2: Renales Fanconi Syndrom

"Renal Fanconi syndrome and body fluid homeostasis"

Verschiedene seltene Krankheiten sind mit einer generalisierten Dysfunktion bestimmter Zellen in der Niere, den proximalen Tubuluszellen, assoziiert. Diese Art von Störung wird als renales Fanconi-Syndrom (RFS) bezeichnet und führt zu einem übermäßigen Verlust von gelösten Stoffen im Urin. Diese Verluste führen zu schweren klinischen Problemen wie Dehydrierung und Elektrolyt-Ungleichgewicht, Rachitis, Wachstumsstörungen und zu einer progressiven Niereninsuffizienz.

Die Betreuung solcher Patienten stellt eine große Herausforderung dar, aufgrund des Mangels an standardisierten diagnostischen und klinischen Verfahren, aufgrund der Schwierigkeit, Patienten für klinische Studien zu rekrutieren, aufgrund der grossen Variabilität der Phänotypen und aufgrund des Mangels an geeigneten Modellen und klinischen und biologischen Daten.

Die wichtigsten Ziele des Projekts sind die Einrichtung eines umfassenden Patientenregisters, die Entwicklung neuer Modelle, um Einblick in die Pathophysiologie des RFS zu gewinnen, und letztlich die Verbesserung der Diagnose, des Follow-ups und der Behandlung von Patienten mit solchen Krankheiten.